Alien Vs. Hunter




avh

Originally uploaded by Thomas Roche

Sometimes it is almost frickin’ eerie. I spotted this dog on the shelf in Alameda, was about to upload it to Flickr to make fun of it. I mean, Alien Vs. Hunter? Way to pass off a fourth-rate knockoff as a famous franchise, albeit a not-that-good one, and way to probably make bazillions doing it. And why isn’t it, like "Space Traveller Vs. Hunter" ? Was "Predator" successfully trademarked, but "Alien" wasn’t? I was tempted to question what kind of choad would fall for this marketing, but that’s just mean-spirited — the ill-advised moviegoer doesn’t need my abuse, s/he gets plenty of it from Hollywood.

Thinking I was oh so clever, I figured "WTF? I’ll link to these MFs site," and found this on Slashfilm:

Found this photo on Flickr. I wonder how many stupid people rent this direct-to-dvd rip-off thinking it’s part of the AVP (Alien vs. Predator) series? The film has an estimated budget of $500,000, and is currently getting a 1.4 out of 10 user rating on the Internet Movie Database. Produced by The Asylum, a company known for it’s cheap rip-off DVD movies, which also includes: Transmorphers, Snakes on a Train, I Am Omega, Da Vinci Treasure, HG Wells’ War of the Worlds, and Pirates of Treasure Island.

Either great minds think alike or shitheads never differ. And that is one damn impressive resume — "Transmorphers?" Daaaaayyyyaaaaayyyyyaaaam that’s shameless.

It all reminds me of the Hamster Vice vs. Malibu Mice era. Does anyone else remember that or did I just hallucinate it in a Drano-snortin’ mescaline nightmare?

Leave a Reply

