Cemetery Man




Cemetery Man

Originally uploaded by Thomas Roche

Tonight’s viewing: Cemetery Man, aka “Dellamorte, Dellamore,” aka “Of Death, Of Love” or “Of Love and Death,” which Martin Scorsese called one of the best Italian films of the 1990s. Directed by Dario Argento protege Michele Soavi, it is one of the strangest movies ever made. It’s way better than just one of the best Italian movies of the 1990s. This captivatingly beautiful weirdfest is a strange existential dissection of reality in the form, kinda, of a zombie movie. If you have not seen it, there is gore, exploding heads, sex with the dead (oodles of it), weird metaphorical horror shit (oodles of that, too) and the visual esthetic of a low-fi rotting-fruit still life, Peter Greenaway by way of Hitchcock and Evil Dead. It’s gorgeous and weird and one of the greatest flicks ever made, quite possibly in my opinion the greatest horror flick ever made — not least because it’s not a horror flick, really, it just has exploding heads and zombiefucking.

I saw Cemetery Man when it was “Dellamorte, Dellamore,” which I think was before it was released on tape in the U.S. I’d missed it during its brief sojourn in US theatres… though I’d had it recommended to me, I’d been burned by plenty of foreign horror films and didn’t go out of my way to see them in the theater (still don’t). I must have rented Dellamorte, Dellamore from the amazing Le Video in San Francisco, which for years was the only place I could rent foreign horror films. In particular, they had the best selection of Hammer films I had ever seen. Like you care?

Image from Wikipedia.

Leave a Reply

