Happy Birthday, Karen Black




Happy Birthday, Karen Black

Originally uploaded by Thomas Roche

A very happy birthday — her 69th (huh huh, huh huh huh huh huh) to Karen Black, favored scream queen of my childhood. In addition to being a beloved horror icon, she’s appeared in a boatload of prominent films, including Easy Rider, Five Easy Pieces, The Great Gatsby, Airport 1975, Nashville, Hitchcock’s Family Plot. More recently she’s been directing, acting on stage, and reliving her horror glory days with legions of fans who worship her, as well as appearing in such recent(er) films as Rob Zombie’s House of 1000 Corpses and the "surreal" Plan 10 From Outer Space, which I understand is a parody of Mormon theology.

My affection for Ms. Black and hints of a disturbingly psychosexual preadolescent craving for her originate from a lesser-known flick she was in with Oliver Reed, 1976’s haunted house story Burnt Offerings. It scared the living shit out of me when I was probably too young to see it, and scarred me for life. It probably made me weird.

Karen Black is still performing, directing and blogging. Keep up with her at her My Space page, from which this photo is borrowed.

Image from Karen Black’s My Space page

Leave a Reply

