‘The Sopranos’ is Dead, Long Live ‘The Sopranos’


Sopranos Season 2 Poster

Originally uploaded by Thomas Roche

According to IMDB.com, Peter Bogdanovich says David Chase says there won’t be a ‘Sopranos’ movie. “I spoke to David Chase about it a month ago, and he said no. He said he thought about it, and he can’t figure a way to do it. So I don’t think it will ever happen. I don’t think you can ever say never, but my hunch is it won’t happen.’

I made known my feelings about the last season of ‘The Sopranos’ in no uncertain terms in this essay about Merv Griffin, but let me summarize. The first three, possibly four, seasons of ‘The Sopranos’ are way better than ‘the best works of American culture,’ as they’ve been called. They’re the greatest thing ever, in a twelve-way tie with flowers, kittens, puppies, rainbows, unicorns, coffee, bourbon, hamburgers, sex, coroner’s reports and Chicago blues. The fifth and sixth seasons of ‘The Sopranos’ are… weird. And bad. And it is one of the great daily agonies of my life that nobody, but nobody, hates them as much as I do. In fact, some people like them.

Which is not Chase’s problem — he should know better, and should be ashamed of himself for running out of steam and being too greedy or in love with himself to pull the plug when he still had something to say. As a creative professional it’s always hard to figure out what to do with yourself once your ideas evaporate. Most people just keep pumping out sewage and accept widespread critical and public acclaim, which seemed to be Chase’s strategy. That people are even talking about a ‘Sopranos’ movie is disturbing — it reminds me that people actually thought Season 6 and 6.1 was good. Some viewers even thought it was, I can’t even say it. Great. There, I said it.

When I consider it, I shudder for the fate of the human race.

Chase all but invented the Mob primetime soap opera TV show, so… piss all over it if you want, I guess. But the Mob movie is a great tradition. To even mention the possibility of creating such a travesty is a crime, and not a very organized one. It’s almost as if Francis Ford Coppola wanted to make a third Godfather movie with Andy Garcia and George Hamilton, in which Michael Corleone got mixed up in Papal politics.

Or something.

Image from Wikipedia.

Leave a Reply

